BREAKING: Speaker Abbas Appoints Dennis Idahosa, 4 Others as Chairmen of Standing Committees



On Thursday, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Tajudeen Abbas, appointed five lawmakers as Chairmen of Standing Committees.

In a statement personally signed by the Speaker, four lawmakers are members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), while one lawmaker is from the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

He said: “Following the nomination of some members of the 10th House of Representatives as honourable Ministers by His Excellency, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the void in the leadership of some standing committees of the House, it is my pleasure to announce the appointment of the following lawmakers to fill up the vacant positions:

“Hon. Mamudu Abdullahi (APC, Niger): Chairman, House Committee on Army

“Hon. Pascal Agbodike (APGA, Anambra): Chairman, House Committee on Hydrological Services

“Hon. Dennis Idahosa (APC, Edo): Chairman, House Committee on Healthcare Services

“Hon. Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo (YPP, Akwa Ibom) — Chairman, House Committee on Electronic and Digital Banking.

“Hon. Bukar Talba (APC, Borno): Chairman, House Committee on Institutional Reforms

“The appointments shall take immediate effect, while the legislative record shall be updated upon the resumption of the House from recess,” the Speaker noted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *